Jinhao X450 Fountain Pen

After enjoying my Jinhao 159 so much I expanded my collection into the other models, easy to do at such a low price point (This was just £2.99 in total from Amazon UK). The x450 was one of the first and it’s seen the most use in my work rotation.

20170525_124447
In use at work. The green swirly pattern is barely visible and I sit right next to the window.

I got one with a dark green smoky, swirly pattern. In bright light it stands out but indoors It looks kinda black with green bits, as seen in the photo above. Also visible in the photo is the pattern on the cap is clearer than the one on the barrel. Other barrel patterns are available.

Like other Jinhao pens it has a pleasing symmetry with the black end finials (actually black) on the cap and barrel and the gold bands. The clip is metal and really stiff. On the cap band under the clip is “Jinhao” and on the reverse “X450”. This black and gold style is repeated on the grip section. The metal grip has three ribbed cut outs for a semi-triangular section. I find it comfortable but then I like triangular grips.

Speaking of metal it seems the construction is brass with an outer coating. The black plating on the grip sections is slowly wearing off and the barrel ring’s ‘gold’ plating (sarcastic air quotes intended)is also coming off after multiple cappings. The cap snaps on firm but after dropping the pen on a hard floor the snap is no longer as tight 😦

It’s a cartridge converter, like the other Jinhao’s I own. They all come with a plastic converter although I’ve been using up Waterman ‘Intense Noir’ cartridges in this lately. The converters are perfectly functional.

The nib is steel with ‘gold’ edging which has also started to flake a bit. On the nib is “Jinhao” along with their logo and “18K GP”. Presumably the thinnest layer of 18k gold know to humanity. When I first loaded the pen with a cartridge it would not feed but after a thorough clean out it’s been fine. I understand this is a common issue with Jinhaos and I’ve cleaned later pens out before their first use upon arrival. It does have occasional hard starts after a few days unused, but once past that it works happily all day. I did a little smoothing on the nib (medium-ish line). It’s a hard nib that can squeeze out a little line variation. I’ve used worse. I understand that it is a standard #5 size so any old nibs you have could cheaply be housed in this pen.

I’ve got a soft spot for these pocket money pens. More reviews to come down the line of others in my collection but if you’ve never tried one pick one up for the price of a pint of beer. They’re great for when you don’t want to take an expensive pen (say, on holiday or to work) and make great test beds for your nib-tuning practice (replacement nibs can also be bought in bulk online).

Leave a Reply

